The 12 Stages of Healing

The 12 Stages of Healing

The 12 Stages Of Healing

japa orchid

1. Suffering – Different from pain, suffering is marked by a profound awareness that something is wrong. Parts of our being are disconnected. The awareness of this disconnection is usually made as we draw more upon our consciousness and energetic resources. This especially occurs when confronted by a traumatic or chaotic event or loss. The lesson of this stage is the acceptance that nothing works
at this time, and that you are presently helpless.

2. Polarities and Rhythms – This stage begins with the search for the magical genie who can or has been identified as the savior form our distress, pain or crisis. We project from the alienated, isolated, traumatized, hurt, shamed or ignored aspects of our being. These parts try to gain power over our helplessness through external authorities, procedures, treatments, etc. As we heal, we eventually discover that what we blamed or projected as being so wrong is not so bad. Or we see that our genie is not so magical. We begin to become aware of our rhythms and polarities and discover we are somehow involved in a process, and are partially responsible for our distress.

3. Stuck in a Perspective – This stage of healing involves the recognition that our distress is associated with the fact that we have been stuck in a perspective. Our concepts and or our physiology have been fixated. We do not yet know why we’ve been stuck, or what to do about it. We just need to be with the simple revelation that we’ve been stuck.

4. Reclaiming Our Power – This stage of healing is one in which we realize that the “script” determined by the above three stages is no longer desirable or no longer works. Initially, we are angry that we had lost our power, and are determined not to let it happen again. As we progress through this stage, we choose to no longer dishonor ourselves, because we deserve more.

5. Merging with the Illusion – This stage is associated with having a strong enough sense of self to turn back onto our own alienated “shadow” or “light” to heal the illusion and create more wholeness. At this major stage of healing we can appear on the other side of our illusionary self.

6. Preparation for Resolution – The alienated, traumatized, denied or redirected consciousness or energy is moving towards being prepared for discharge and resolution. We feel the tension building within ourselves as this process advances. We find ways to create change and develop the flexibility to continue the process.


7. Resolution – Discharge of bioelectric energy is associated with a discharge of mechanical energy. This may be discharge of the muscular system, such as movement of the trunk or extremities. Processes such as fever, coughing, sneezing, or vomiting are common forms of discharge. Crying, screaming and laughing are also discharge phenomena. When the discharge occurs after the previous six stages, resolution can occur with the discharge. When a sense of accomplishment, peace and inner strength accompanies the process, then resolution has been achieved.

8. Emptiness in Connectedness – After the discharge we are emptied. Rather than a space of nothingness, we find ourselves in a place of possibilities. We enter a state of gratitude, vulnerability, connection with our external rhythms, and alignment with events around us. We welcome serendipity as a natural way of life.

9. Light Behind the Form – From our place of emptiness and gratitude we can truly appreciate our energetic fullness. We experience that we are more than our physical body, and actually become aware of the flow of life force, through us. We more fully experience our connection to others.

10. Ascent – We experience our union with the creative force of the universe. We transcend all limits, boundaries, language, judgments and our existing sense of self. We gain the wisdom of knowing the oneness of all of creation during this stage.

11. Descent – We are renewed beyond our limits and sense of self and enter into the world again. We know that we are part of all we perceive and responsible for all that we know. We live without being attached to our situations. We love and serve.

12. Community – We experience our involvement with humanity and recognize that wholeness comes from bringing our individual gifts into community. This occurs in our internal and external communities. We receive gifts from within ourselves and from others. We recognize that all of our choices are spiritual ones and affect all beings. Eventually we recognize that our limits stem from our own lack of wholeness. Consequently, we seek to re-experience the rhythm of stage one.

Chrstine A. Boiano, D.C, Community Chiropractic, Newington, Ct